Top Ten Tuesday: Books that should be in your beach bag

I’m a big fan of the Top Ten Tuesday book posts as created by The Broke and Bookish. They’re a wonderful blog that comes out with a top ten list every Tuesday for other book bloggers to create. It’s pretty amazing how many bloggers they get making a top ten list from their category every Tuesday.

Now unfortunately, I’m not at the library to write on Tuesdays but fortunately, the Broke and Bookish post their categories beforehand so I can write the posts on Mondays and then just go on and publish the draft on Tuesday morning. But don’t be surprised if I occasionally forget and it comes out on a Wednesday (for example this week).

Now time for a list of the Top Ten Books that Should be in Your Beach Bag. A.K.A summer reading books.

1. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. I seriously don’t think I’ll ever stop promoting this book to fellow readers. I know all the John Green hype is about The Fault in Our Stars right now and it’s a great book, but I wouldn’t recommend that as beach reading (unless you’re cool with crying buckets of tears in public). Will Grayson is just as wonderfully written and thoughtful, just not so sad.

2. Every Day by David Levithan. I wanted to try something else by David Levithan after the book at number 1 turned out so great, so I tried this one. It would make for a wonderful summer/beach reading book. It’s light enough that you don’t have to sit alone and concentrate to understand, but still deep and thought-provoking enough, which makes for a great beach read in my opinion. I mean it’s about someone who lives in the body of a different teenager every day, but yet somehow remains the same person. Pretty cool.

3.Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard. Don’t be scared off by the fact that there’s like 15 books in this series. The books are fun, crazy, twisted, and great for beach reading. I find myself able to read an entire one of these books in one day at the beach, and I don’t ever get bored. PLL books are filled with awesome twists and turns that keep you interested throughout the whole thing. Plus, they’re pretty short and an easy read which is a bonus for a beach book.

4.Room by Emma Donahue. This book is a few years old but if you haven’t read it yet I highly recommend it. The concept is pretty serious (a woman has been kidnapped and is held in a tiny shed for over seven years, her five year old son has only ever known that one room). The book is narrated by that son, Jack, an interesting and new concept.

5.Handle with Care by Jodi Picoult. Most Jodi Picoult books actually make for good, relatively light, summer/beach reading. This one happens to be my favourite (minus My Sister’s Keeper, but that’s the crying in public thing all over again). Sing you Home, Plain Truth, and Nineteen Minutes are also good choices.

I guess that’s all I have for now folks. Let me know what your Top Ten beach books are in the comments!

–Erika

 

Leave a Reply

