Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read so far This Year

Okay so it’s Thursday. Don’t judge me. I’m going to get this out anyway cause I like this one. Today’s (or two days ago’s) Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and Bookish, is Top Ten Books I’ve Read so far This Year. Or, in my case the only books I’ve read so far this year since university was long and required lots of reading of it’s own so I didn’t get time to read for fun. I might have read more than this but here’s the books I remember reading and what I think.

1.The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. So I loved this one. It was a post-alien invasion book that’s really nothing like any alien book I’ve ever read. That’s partly because it really details everything that happens from the first alien ship appearing to the world almost ending. And it seems realistic. Just something about the way the humans react seems more real than anything I’ve read. Another bonus: there’s a romance, but it’s believable, not distracting from the action, and I enjoyed those scenes.

2.Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. There’s been a ton of hype over this so I was excited to read it. To be honest it didn’t really seem as great to me as other people thought it was. I mean, I liked that the main characters weren’t your typical pretty, in-shape, white, people, at first. After that I just started to become annoyed by the fact that this was pretty much the only character trait they mentioned about them ever. I still might read other books by Rowell.

3.If you Find Me by Emily Murdoch. This one wasn’t bad. I wouldn’t go running to recommend it but if someone said they were reading it I wouldn’t tell them to stop. Some aspects were nice, others were a little unbelievable (two girls living in the woods with only a few books ever are two grades smarter than their classmates? Doubt it.).

4.Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari. I’m a huge fan of post-apocalyptic novels (except  extreme zombie ones, sorry Walking Dead fans) and I think I’ve read enough to be a pretty fair judge of them. This one was average. Nothing too special, nothing too bad. The romance angle was alright. The best part was about the plague and those who survived it (not nearly as well done as the 5th Wave).

5.Will Grayson, WIll Grayson by John Green. If you’ve read my other post, you’ll know of my love for this. Love. It’s fantastic. I’ll say nothing more. Just go read it.

6.Every Day by David Levithan. This one was in my last post too. It’s a great concept and and interesting read. I’d recommend it.

That’s all I’ve got for that. Leave a comment with your opinion on this or recommend a book to me!

-Erika

Leave a Reply

