Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Legend

I think I’m getting old.

Every once in a while, while reading Legend by Marie Lu, I would stop reading and think about how young the characters are. They’re fifteen and something about that just screamed “too young.” Maybe it’s because I’m getting older-I used to have no problem with all the sixteen-year-old’s falling in love and starting a rebellion (cough *the Hunger Games* cough). I think maybe I’ve grown old enough to realize that true love doesn’t happen at 15. And neither does the intelligence to manufacture a rebellion.

Other than the characters age, which I kind of imagined as like 18, the book was a success. Legend brought a little something new the dystopian genre, which is pretty hard to do these days when every second book on the shelf is a copycat. It allowed for the perspective of someone from the “bad” side to be used. June was a believable, and likable, protagonist. Her struggle with the truth of the Republic was realistic, instead of just dropping her beliefs the second she hears differently, she takes a long time to finally come to terms with things.

But while we’re on the topic of characters, let’s talk about my favourite. Day. Though him and June shared equal protagonist P.O.Vs, I was more drawn to Day. He seemed more developed and interesting when it came to his personality and his values and beliefs. I could imagine him better as a person than I could June. Although I do have a serious soft spot for the “good villain” so that could be personal preference.

As far as technical elements go, I didn’t like the brown writing used for Day’s perspective. I’ve often seen different fonts used for different perspectives, but never different colours. It just kind of distracted me from the actual text. It was pretty light, which I think could cause some problems with people who have vision problems.

The age of the characters was really the only major downside to this book for me. I’m excited to get the next two books in the series and learn more about the lies of the Republic. But what I’m actually most excited for is learning more about the Colonies and what exactly is going on on the other side.

Overall I give Legend 4 out of 5 stars.

Thanks for reading me review! Let me know what you think in the comments!

–Erika

2 thoughts on “Review: Legend by Marie Lu

  1. I just started this book this morning. I totally didn’t realize that Day was going to be the bad guy!

    I think it depends on the person as to how fast they mature and what they’re capable of at a certain age. But since I actually haven’t read the book yet, I don’t know if they act their ages or not. I enjoyed your review. 🙂

    • Thanks for reading!

      It’s not that Day is really the “bad guy” but that’s his position relative to June and the Republic. Just as June is the “bad guy” to Day. It’s a really interesting take that they both end up being the hero and the villain at some point.

Leave a Reply

