Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Classics

So it’s Wednesday again. This time I have an excuse though, yesterday was Canada day and (since that’s where I live) there was no work and there were fun things going on. So I’m just going to write this today.

This week, the Broke and Bookish‘s Top Ten list is Top Ten Classics. Now, I’m not a huge reader of classics but there are a lot of Young Adult/Juvenile Classics that I love, so my list will likely be largely populated with those.

1)1984 by George Orwell. Probably my favourite from the limited classics I have read. I love dystopians and this one was one of the first and best. It’s also one of the only books on my list that isn’t Young Adult.

2)Lord of the Flies by William Goulding. We read this in school and it was one of the only books we were forced to read that I actually liked.

3)The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. At the library these fall under the Young Adult/Juvenile classics category and I believe they belong there.

4)The Giver by Lois Lowry. Once again I think there might be some people who argue that this is too new to be a classic but I disagree. There are some schools that use this as an assigned reading and I think more should start doing that. It’s something all young people should read.

5)Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol. I didn’t know this was the actual name until I started working at teh library and decided I wanted to finally read it. But it is wonderful. “We’re all Mad Here.”

6)Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. Yep, this one is considered a Juvenile Classic.It’s one of the cutest, saddest, lesson-filled juvenile books I know. I loved the book and the movie as a child.

7)Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson. This book actually isn’t on our Juvenile classics shelf, though I think it should be. Maybe it was left off to prevent young people from crying so much. In any case, this book inspired so many secret worlds and hiding places in the fields near my hometown that it’s a classic for me.

Well that’s all I’ve got for this week. Please enjoy my Top Ten Juvenile/Young Adult classics and let me know what you think in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Classics

  1. 1984 and the Giver are two great dystopian reads. I also love Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland 🙂
    The only one that I disagree with is the Lord of the Flies. It just was not enjoyable to me, but I’ve been seeing this one on a lot of people’s list, so I think I’m outnumbered, haha.

  2. Great to hear that you also got your feet wet into dystopian with the classic authors (not that I’m hating on the more recent ones though). It’s also neat to find reads that you appreciate despite being forced to read in school. I think the only one that I remotely enjoyed, aside from Shakespeare, was the Handmaid’s Tale. Well, enjoyed is stretching it I guess.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

