Review: Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

drink

Title: Not a Drop to Drink

Author: Mindy McGinnis

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Emotion: Interest

I was only a little bit thirsty while reading this book. Occasionally, whenever the long process of filtering water was brought up, I would be reminded of the tank of large water cooler filled with perfectly filtered water sitting in kitchen and have to go get a drink. Feeling slightly thankful that I could.

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis showed a picture of a future different from almost any other I’ve seen in this type of book. That being because it was much more realistic. There wasn’t a plague wiping humans out, there wasn’t a nuclear war that left only a few survivors, there was only a water shortage. A water shortage that, with the rising population of humans on Earth, is becoming more and more believable.

The characters were also believable. I liked Lynn and her mother and the way they did anything they had to to survive. I also had a soft spot for their somewhat neighbour, Stebbs, even before he became an important subject in the story.

Another one of my favourite parts about Lynn was that she didn’t jump right into her romance. She was nervous, she wasn’t quite sure exactly what she felt, and she didn’t proclaim almost instant love (actually I’m not quite sure she ever did that). I’m all for romances in post-apocalyptic/dystopians, it’s actually one of that parts I look forward to reading and learning about. But I am picky about my romances. They have to be realistic and they can’t overshadow the actual story. Not a Drop to Drink managed to follow both these guidelines.

Of course my one qualm about the book is a spoiler so I won’t say exactly what it is. I will say that I normally like endings or parts that aren’t totally happy and perfect with everyone from the good side surviving, and while this book was like that I was disappointed. I felt as if there wasn’t quite enough development of character and lives before the spoiler I can’t talk about.

Overall, I was also looking for a little more description of the past (how the water shortage got started) and the cities (what exactly is all the controversy and terribleness happening there). But I have heard there’s a sequel so perhaps I will get my explanations there. For now, I’m going to give Not a Drop to Drink 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Let me know what you thought of Not a Drop to Drink and of my review in the comments!

 

P.S I am starting out an actual format for reviews, as you can see above. I’ll be listing details of the book as well as a link to the goodreads blurb then my rating and my primary emotion while reading the book.

 

Leave a Reply

