Review: UnSouled by Neal Shusterman

unsouled

Title: UnSouled

Author: Neal Shusterman

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Reaction: (me presenting this book to other people)

Anna

I think that as long as I live I will never get over the fact that these books aren’t as popular as I think they should be. Neal Shusterman is a genius and the UnWind dystology is the ultimate product of that genius.

It’s been a long time since I read the second book (I was having a frustrating amount of trouble trying to find UnSouled) so I didn’t remember some things. And I didn’t care. That’s the mark of a brilliant series. It didn’t really matter to me that I didn’t remember all the details of what went on between Cam and Risa or all the details of what happened at the Graveyard because I was instantly way too invested in what was happening NOW.

I have always loved the way Shusterman adds in a few chapters from secondary characters in his books but this time I thought it was done even better than before. The character of Grace was a wonderful addition as I felt like she helped balance out many other characters and calmed everything down when there was getting to be too much drama. Her brother and Nelson weren’t my favourite story line-but it was still well written. I also really enjoyed getting to hear from Bam. Normally minor characters with perspectives are the one’s leading certain groups-good or bad-but¬†Bam and Grace were both followers who proved incredibly interesting and worthwhile.

Of course hearing about the Reinschild’s and their big secret was what I had been waiting for the entire book. It was very interesting to hear the story told in small segments throughout the book instead of all at once. I was a little surprised by the simplicity¬†of the solution they came up with. It was something that is happening even now in the “real world.” I found that this actually made it easier to relate to the books and realize how close we could be to the world they live in now, but yet how different we are.

As always with this series, my favourite part of the book was really getting to consider the moral issues behind everything. The way Shusterman includes little tidbits of real news information to parallel his book makes it absolutely amazing. This book, just like all the others is guaranteed to get you thinking.

I’m not even going to get into how great the main character’s story-line was because I could probably write about Connor, Risa and Lev for hours. Instead I will just tell everyone that they MUST read this book. 5 stars out of 5.

GO READ UnWind! Like now. Then rejoice with me that there’s going to be a fourth book.

–Erika

Leave a Reply

