Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read or Not To Read

One week of actually being on time with TTT is pretty good right? Oh well, this Wednesday the Broke and Bookish made the Top Ten Tuesday list Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read. I go through this kind of thing a lot in book stores, sitting there staring at the title/blurb and wondering for hours if this is the one I want to read. Okay, maybe not hours but still a long time.

mazeboyslyinghollowdayGoT100book

1.The Maze Runner by James Dashner. When I first saw this book, years ago actually, I was really intrigued by the concept. My friend had recently bought a copy so I borrowed it, read the first few chapters, and quit. I don’t know if it was the language, the writing style, the characters, but for some reason I just could not get into these books. I’m not sure if I should try again.

2.To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I never read The Summer I Turned Pretty, so I don’t have an idea of Han’s writing style just yet. At first the reviews I heard of this book made it seem realistic and emotional. Later on, though I started hearing more people saying the romance was a bit cheesy and contrived. Since I am the enemy of teen romance, especially cheesy romance, I can’t decide on this one.

3.The Lying Game by Sara Shepard. I am a big fan of Pretty Little Liars but I am wary of this series because of that. I read the first book and I found it to be very similar to PLL. I’m not sure I want to read another really long series that’s almost the same as another.

4.Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. The first book in this series, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, was actually really good. However the ending got a little too strange for me so I’m not sure I would enjoy it if it got any stranger. As well, it’s been a really long time since I read the first book and I’m forgetting a lot of the details which makes me wonder if it’s actually worth reading.

5.Just One Day by Gayle Foreman. I read and enjoyed If I Stay, and Where She Went is on my summer/fall reading list, but something about the title and the cover of this book is making me question it. I guess it’s that romance thing again. If I Stay handled the romance angle well, and didn’t make it cheesy or the star of a book that was supposed to be about something else. But Just One Day is supposed to be about romance so I worry it won’t be done to my cynical standards.

6.A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. Like I’ve mentioned before in my posts, I think I’ve become too invested in the TV show to risk spoiling it with the books. You can always read the book and watch the movie, but TV show adaptations are more complicated and sometimes you just don’t want to do both.

7.The 100 by Kass Morgan. Ditto to GoT. I love love love the TV show but reviews of the book are pretty dismal. I don’t want to get a bunch of show spoilers from a book that wasn’t any good, yet I am intrigued to see how that situation translates in writing.

I think that’s about it on my To Read Or Not To Read list for now. Let me know what you think about any of the books on my list! Should I read them or not?

–Erika

Leave a Reply

