Movie Tie-In Covers: Why We Need to Stop Hating

It seems that the thing to do when a movie comes out that’s based on a book is to create a new cover that reflects the movie and the characters in it. I’ve never really been a big fan of these movie tie-in covers, so I never really understood why they were so popular. I guess I figured people who preferred the movie covers to the originals were just people who only knew about the book because they watched the movie. The kind of people who were only going to imagine the characters as the movie ones and never do any imagining of their own. And then I realized it doesn’t matter.

It doesn’t matter because they are reading. I want to be a person who promotes reading, of any kind. I don’t want to be the kind of person who judges someone on the book they choose, nevermind on the cover of the book they choose. If seeing a movie encourages someone to pick up the book with the tie-in cover, great. Picking up a book because you saw the movie could be the first step in becoming an avid reader. It could make you want to read the sequel before the movie, or read something similar because you happened to like the genre.

I’ve seen countless posts hating on the movie tie-in covers of books like the Hobbit, Pride and Prejudice, the Great Gatsby, the Hunger Games, and countless more. I want to tell every one of these people to stop hating. The movie-tie in isn’t the only cover available. You don’t have to buy it if you don’t like it. So stop claiming that the new cover has ruined the art that is the original. Get over your book-snob self and think about all the people this cover might get to read the book.

As an example, I always talk about the Giver by Lois Lowry.

Giver

The original cover of the Giver is really great once you’ve read the book. It represents the book and the mood so well. But it doesn’t draw everyone in. I remember when I first read it, I was uncertain, mostly because of the cover. I thought it looked a little old, and it really reminded me of something I might be forced to read for school. I was so wrong. The new cover is something I probably would have been drawn to, even before the movie. The more modern look, combined with the recent movie, will likely encourage more people to pick up the book and read it.

The Giver is so absolutely amazing I want as many people as possible to read it. I’ve decided I don’t care if they only read it because the cover looks like the movie. They’re reading it. It’s a start.

–Erika

 

2 thoughts on “Movie Tie-In Covers: Why We Need to Stop Hating

  1. Thanks for that comment. I want to write on the same topic as well but I don’t want to be all negative. Will refer to your post when I start my draft.
    I’m guilty for buying 2-3 books with film tie-in covers. I cannot resist buying Jane Eyre with Michael Fassbender on the cover. He’s just so awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

