Review: (Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

forget

 

Title: (Don’t You) Forget About Me

Author: Kate Karyus Quinn

Genre: YA dystopian

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reaction gif:

jack

Yeah, I know that was a weird reaction. This was a weird book. I honestly had no idea about what was coming in this book. The title gave nothing away, the cover gave nothing away, and the description, while enticing and interesting, did not cover it by half.

Something I did love right from the start is the perspective changes. While the story is narrated by the same person the entire book, there are changes in the POV. It goes from regular first-person to something totally different. Many of the chapters are written in the form of the MC Skylar addressing her sister Piper, telling her stories about the two of them, (You went into the house and I followed you). This is supposed to be, I believe pieces of a message left recorded on an old tape that Skylar has made.

Be warned if you are going to read this book, there is much more of fantastical element than it seems. Thankfully, I really enjoy that kind of thing, so it was a pleasant surprise. However I think some readers who are into more realistic-dystopias would be turned off by the supernatural-ish stuff that goes on.

The characters were done very well. I did find myself frustrated with the narrator/MC Skylar quite often. But I think maybe that’s what Quinn wanted. It seems like the reader was meant to be frustrated with the MC’s inability to cope and deal with things so when she finally does this we are more amazed and interested. Of course I loved Piper, because who doesn’t love the mysterious, enticing, bad-girl. I wish we had heard a little more about what she actually did as opposed to just really hearing Sky’s thoughts about it, though. And then there’s Foote. He turned into a very interested character, but I just could not get past the name. I mean Foote? Foote? As if adding the ‘e’ made it any more appealing. I do wish we could have heard a little more about him and his back story. Perhaps that would help the name grow on me.

The one problem this book had for me was the setting overshadowing the characters. I found myself wanting to know more and more about previous fourth years in Gardnerville, despite the once-again unfortunate name. I wanted to find out more about the town before it became Garnderville, and I wanted to go more in depth about all of it’s powers and magic. Which is more than I wanted to know about any of the characters. This kind of thing can often be a downside in books since I sometimes noticed I was impatiently reading and waiting for more stories about the town.

The TWIST though! So great. I honestly never saw it coming, not even after a bunch of small hints were dropped, and I pride myself on usually being able to figure out twist endings. So a job well done on that Ms. Quinn. I loved that there were actually a couple smaller twists in the end to lead up to the big reveal because just when you thought this was it for the craziness, something else would happen.

All in all, I would recommend this book to anyone looking to read something a little on the strange side. I’m not exactly sure what everything in this book means yet, hence the gif, but it is growing on me more and more. I will definitely be picking up Quinn’s other book Another Little Piece.

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you thought of (Don’t You) Forget About Me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

