Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

liars

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Genre: YA (Drama)

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reaction gif:

shit

So I went into this book unsure of what I was going to get, knowing only that I already loved the tagline “Read it. And if anyone asks you how it ends, just lie.” There wasn’t much else to give away from the cover, or the blurb, but I think that was the point, and it worked really well for the purpose of this book.

I pretty much knew I was going to really like this from the first few sentences, when the main character Cadence describes her family with a series of short sentences that just made me think “rich, privileged, spoiled family with a boatload of secrets they hide to make sure they look perfect to not only the public but themselves.” I know that’s kind of a detailed and specific thought to have at the first few sentences, but I’ve read a few books (PLL) and watched a few shows (Gossip Girl) with this kind of family dynamic to know.

There’s not much I can say about the plot or the characters without giving away a ton of spoilers or being forced to lie about the ending, but I can talk about the writing itself. Lockhart writes in a very stylized way, which I can tell isn’t for everyone. I loved it, but I can see how some people that prefer organized paragraphs to go along with organized thoughts from narrators may be turned off. I, on the other hand, have very unorganized thoughts myself, so I actually enjoyed reading in the voice of someone who sounded really real to me, despite how vastly different her life was than mine.

I did really like the characters, and I think they all played their parts perfectly throughout the book. No one really deviated from the picture that was painted of them the first time we were introduced to them, which can be a detriment to some books, but somehow it worked in this one. I think that probably had something to do with the old-money family again. It seems in families like these, where members pride themselves one being perfect and therefore, unchanging.

I really wish I could talk all about the plot, which I will say is the one reason I took half a star off this book. I was able to guess the twist. I knew there was going to be a twist, with the mystery surrounding what it was actually about, and just the general way it was written. Now I don’t think everyone will be able to see it coming (I pride myself on my twist-guessing skills as I mentioned in my last review), but for people like me it was kind of like “Aw yes, there it is.” It was still kind of shocking though, even though I guessed it. Maybe that’s because I was secretly hoping it wasn’t true. I cried a little when it did.

In the end, I only have one piece of advice for all of you, “Read it. And if anyone asks you how it ends, make them read it too.”

Leave a Reply

