(Do) Judge a Book by It’s Cover

So I know I haven’y posted anything since I last did one of these, but I’m in a Creative Non-Fiction class this semester and our first assignment is due soon and I’ve really been struggling to write non-fiction. I’ve never tried it before and it’s really interesting and different, but I really think I’m going to stick to fiction writing in the future. Hopefully this class will help my personal essay-type writing that I do for this blog. Anyway here are my book cover judgements for this week!

2015/01/img_0022.jpg

This is a really recent addition to my to-read list that I just found when scrolling through YA books. I’m not a fan of the heart-shaped pixels or whatever they are, especially the fact that there are tiny hearts making up the big heart. Maybe it’s supposed to be ironic because of the tagline? I don’t know it just screams typical Juvenile Romance to me, which I hate. I like that the title is totally centred, and that it’s in all lowercase letters, but I’m not a fan of the font. Again, it looks a little juvenile and childish to me. Really, if it wasn’t for the tagline I would never have read the back, which is actually really promising. The cover does not do the content justice.

2015/01/img_0023.png

As you can see, there are various covers for this book. Probably because it’s so famous and acclaimed and I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet. My favourite is the first cover, which I assume is the original. I like it because it’s so simple, there’s no people, yet it hints at how interesting and twisted I’ve heard the book is. The little stains under the knife, and the scribbles in the corners and the messy font give me a sense of a muddled mind, someone sitting up all night drinking coffee and loosing their mind. The second cover is still nice, but it’s missing the crazy. The last two aren’t my favourite, they both feel too busy.

2015/01/img_0024.jpg

I picked this book because I’m a sucker for foreboding, numerical titles (I am number 4, the 5th wave, etc.). I do like that there’s no people on the cover, and I like that the little airplane gives you hint at what the story is about, but it’s not too obvious. I don’t like the red, giant title quite so much. It’s a little bit too obviously “doomsday” to me. There is another cover for this book that I love so much more due to extra simplicity and extra forebodingness:

2015/01/img_0025.jpg
Yeah the second cover is just way cooler.

2015/01/img_0035.jpg

Oooh yes. Dark and foreboding again. The title here is so unique and interesting I would walk straight to it in the bookstore. I like the plain and simple font, as well as the black background for the stand-out white and red. I’m not really sure what the picture in the middle is, but I like the mysterious nature (maybe it’s going to be something out to get me). The tag line might be a little tacky, but I can deal. The problem is, this isn’t the cover I usually see. The usual one is a typical side-profile of a girl peering through some trees. Aside from the fact that she’s wearing far too much black makeup, there really isn’t anything dark or foreboding. Even the font is tacky. Here it is:

2015/01/img_0036.jpg

2015/01/img_0037.jpg

Now, normally I’m not a fan of cartoony covers like this one. But I was drawn in by the pretty colours contrasting with the car falling off the road, again contrasting with the title, which suggests that it’s totally ok the car has just driven off the end of a road (maybe because that hand is going to catch it. I don’t much like the math symbols in the background (maybe because I don’t much like math). I think it makes the cover too busy, and takes away from the title and tagline and other graphics. I know that mathish stuff plays a role in the book, but I don’t think it’s large enough to merit so much room on the cover.

Well that’s all for this post. Let me know what you thought about these covers, or their alternates!

XOXO
Erika

Leave a Reply

