Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

prodigy

Title: Prodigy (A Legend sequel)

Author: Marie Lu

Genre: YA Dystopian

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reaction gif:

it gets better

Warning: slight maybe-spoilers? It’s not gonna spoil the ending. Or any major plot points. Just give a few details about what happens in the middle.

It’s true. Just keep reading and it will get better. Well, some of it does. I went into Prodigy a little hesitant since Legend was kind of just OK for me. Just like Legend I found myself more interested in the characters and their relationships than in the plot. This isn’t always a bad thing, but for a dystopian book that’s pretty focused on the world, it’s a bit of a detriment.

I found the middle section of the book, where Day and June are not together (as in not in the same place) to be dry. This of course is partly a result of my interest focused on the characters rather than on the plot. However, it was also a result of their apartness feeling forced. What I mean by that is the fact that both characters come to face this attraction to other people-and I don’t believe any of it. One of the things I like about Legend was that there was no love triangle. Now it seems like she’s trying to get the attention of young girls who love that kind of thing by introducing a love square. Not appealing.

Also in the middle, came that little bit about June feeling unsure of her alliance. Republic or Patriots? This also seemed forced and pretty obvious to me. Her conflicted feelings were not at all subtle (she straight up thinks “am i still loyal to the republic? Even if it is awful?) and it really threw me off. Normally Lu’s writing about feelings and allegiance is better than that.

What I did love was, once again, Day’s perspectives. Especially the ones when he and June are together. He is a fascinating character to me, and I love that he isn’t your typical white, short-haired, tan, hunky, rich guy. I also really like the action at the end. It was the kind that’s so intense you just want to skip over pages (not in a bad way) and find out how the action ends because you’re just so nervous you can’t even look at the pages. Yeah. That good. The development of June’s character, aside from the cheesy conflicted alliance thing, was also nice. I liked seeing her revelations about Metias and the rest of her life.

Of course, I have to pretend in my head that these characters are like at least 17. It worked pretty well for me, until June says something about how her 16th birthday is coming up and I was like “nope.” I don’t know why 17 feels OK and 15 doesn’t when they’re really only two years apart. I don’t know, I just feel like if they were a couple years older their ages would match their emotional maturity level.

All in all, Prodigy was pretty well done, especially the ending. Well it does lag a little in the middle, and include a few unbelievable (not in a good way) details, I am still excited to get my hands on Champion and see how this whole thing ends. I give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Have you read Prodigy? Let me know what you think in the comments!

XOXO

Erika

Leave a Reply

